Main Logo for Providence College
Site Home> Undergraduate Program > Departmental Honors

Departmental Honors

Each year, the Department of History and Classics awards four honors to graduating freshmen. Each award reflects specific areas of excellence in overall undergraduate work.

  • Highest in Concentration — awarded by the college
  • Forster Award — excellence in European Hist, awarded by the department
  • Pell Award — excellence in American history, awarded by the department and Sen. Pell’s office
  • Reilly Award — overall history excellence, awarded by the department
  • Leroy D. Aaronson Prize for Classics — excellence in the study of ancient Greek or Latin

Please find a list of past award winners below.


  • Highest in Concentration Award (History): Rachel Lynch
  • Highest in Concentration Award (Classics): Joseph Brodeur and David Joanis 
  • Forster Award: Connor Zimmerman
  • Pell Award: Rachel Lynch
  • Reilly Award: Shannon Moore
  • Leroy D. Aaronson Prize: Joseph Brodeur and David Joanis


  • Highest in Concentration: Kevin Cranney
  • Forster Award: Kevin Cranney
  • Pell Award: Nicholas Moran
  • Reilly Award: Jacqueline Michels


  • Highest in Concentration: Haley Rayment
  • Forster Award: Michael Bartels
  • Pell Award: Ernest Andreolli
  • Reilly Award: Ernest Andreolli


  • Highest in Concentration: Jake Guglielmetti
  • Forster Award: Elizabeth Petretti
  • Pell Award: Hugh Kilcommons
  • Reilly Award: Lauren Berolini


  • Highest in Concentration: Rebecca Marisseau & Benjamin Swiszcz
  • Forster Award: Patrick O’Dowd
  • Pell Award: Tyler Stein
  • Reilly Award: Andrea Spencer